449591886_0b36a2e234

I found this recipe in the series of TIME LIFE “The good cook”. I don’t know if it is still in print but if yes, you should definitely buy it. I think it has 15 books every one in a different category (salads, cakes, confectionery, pasta etc).
I am planning to make these ORANGE BALLS very soon, so I will tell you how it went. I think it will be better if I dip the balls in melted chocolate and then roll them in the nuts.

• 6 large oranges
• 250gr sugar
• 1 tsp vanilla extract
• sugar
• 125gr mixed nuts finally chopped

Soak the orange peel in cold water for one day. Drain and weigh the peel. It should be about 250 gr. Put the peel in a saucepan and cover it with cold water. Bring the water t the boil. Cook for 10 minutes or until is soft. Drain. Chop the orange peel finaly and mix it with the sugar. Stir the mixture until sugar is dissolved. Continue to cook until the thermometre shows 112C-116C. Add the vanilla and mix. Remove from heat and cool. Shape it into balls the size of small walnuts. Roll the balls in sugar and then in the nuts.